Press "Enter" to skip to content

One-on-One: Who will win the Heisman Trophy?

Jameis Winston

We’re almost to Thanksgiving, and you know what that means: college football bowl games are just around the corner. But before we get there, we have some hardware to hand out.

The Heisman Trophy has been given to some of the greatest college football players ever. Who will join their ranks this year? I believe it’ll be Jameis Winston.

He’s thrown 28 touchdowns to just seven interceptions this season. He’s also ran in three more TDs and thrown for almost 3,000 yards with two regular season games left.  He’s led the Seminoles to a perfect 10-0 record thus far, and has orchestrated an offense that’s averaging more than 50 points per game, good for the second most in all of Division I football.

As much as people (myself included) hyped up the Oregon offense this season, FSU’s has actually been better, and it’s not being ran by a senior who had four years to learn it.

The Heisman is supposed to be given to the best player in college football.  But there are tons of examples where it wasn’t. If FSU stays unbeaten and makes it to the title game, the voters won’t have a choice: Jameis Winston will win the Heisman Trophy.

 -Garth Shanklin


Marcus Mariota

As the college season winds down to its final weeks, we also begin the debate on who should take home college football’s most prestigious award: The Heisman Trophy.

For almost 85 years, this award is given out to the most thrilling and exciting players in the college game. And this year, it shouldn’t be any different.

Through 12 weeks, one specific player comes to mind when using those words, and that player is Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Mariota, who’s completed just over 62 percent of his throws for 2819 yards, has also thrown for 25 touchdowns and ran for nine more. He’s done all of this while throwing zero interceptions.

While Mariota may not be unbeaten or have a signature season win, he has beaten the likes of Washington and UCLA, who were ranked in the top 20s when they played each other, and consistently makes the plays that keep Oregon dangerous in many different ways.

With each remaining game, I can guarantee that the 6-foot-4, 211 pound playmaking machine will still amaze the football world and, in turn, win the Heisman Trophy.

-Chris Kwiecinski

Copyright © 2023, The Scout, Bradley University. All rights reserved.
The Scout is published by members of the student body of Bradley University. Opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the University.